The Key Word Is Preparation

I wanted to share this here because I received so many direct messages after I shared it on my Instagram stories and it’ll be deleted within 24 hours. One today, I shared how I contacted my mother’s life insurance company to ensure I was listed as a beneficiary. I found out that I wasn’t because it was a policy my dad set up for her when he was here so naturally, he added himself as the only beneficiary on the plan as she was for him. If you’re not familiar with my story, my father was called home to be with the Lord this year in April. My mom was the only beneficiary on his policy but I handled everything on her behalf. I am my mother’s only child so I am the go-to person for all things related to finances, investments, etc., a role that I love and take very seriously.

Furthermore, the reason for this post is to shine a light on the word preparation. Are you prepared for life’s unfortunate situations? When I say prepared I mean do you have a life insurance policy? If so, do you know the policy amount? Are you familiar with the type of life insurance policy you have? Do you know if you’re listed as a beneficiary on your parent’s or your spouse’s policy? If not, find out who’s listed and think about if that person is one of the responsible siblings/family members. Now is the time to start asking your family members if they’re covered. Also, be sure to find out if there’s a Will in place. All of these things are so important to familiarize yourself with now instead of when it’s too late. No matter how we are living today, unfortunately, death will come but the best thing you can do for yourself and your family is to ensure your affairs are in order. This post isn’t to sell you on anything, this is simply to inform you that it’s time to wake up and pay attention to details.

Facetune_29-10-2018-16-10-42

Below is what I shared on Instagram.

IMG_5206

signature_ (1)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.