Why I Took A Social Media Break + How To Style a .74 Cent Blouse.

Lately, I’ve been focusing a lot on personal growth along with getting accustomed to being back in NOLA. While on this personal growth journey, this is what I’ve been up to:

Just curious, is it me or do you all realize it’s a lot of information/distractions out there? I mean I love all the info such as what to do & the how to’s etc., but lately, I find myself pulling back and just doing me. I had to unsubscribe from a few emails because I felt myself going into information overload. I deleted the Periscope app from my phone because I was getting way too many alerts and each time one of my favorites would get on I would join in too. However, I was getting off track with my goals and deadlines I had set for that particular day. I noticed I was wasting a lot of time on social media mainly Instagram and although it’s how I grow my business, personally I just needed a break. I needed a break from waking up checking my Instagram, throughout the day, checking my Instagram & before bed, checking my Instagram. I just had to tell myself that it’s not that serious. I needed to focus on my next move, transitioning into a new season and just living in the moment. Now, I’m waking up and centering my thoughts, thinking about how I can grow my brand, who can I help in business & what I can do today that my future self would be proud of instead of overwhelming myself with tips and advice from the “experts.”  

Sometimes, pulling away from social media could be a good thing especially since we all know it’s not going anywhere.  I made a list of a few things I would like to focus on more. One is this blog; I started blogging about 6 years ago and to me, I feel as if I should be further than I am. While on this Instagram break, I realized what’s the main problem and that is: I am not consistent with posting blog posts as I am on social media. I had this blog before Instagram was created and I had to ask myself, why are you neglecting your first love? There’s no excuse at all. NONE would be good enough! All I could do is learn from the past and work on becoming better. I have everything I need to grow my brand, my blog and my social media presence I just need to take it seriously and do the work. Taking this time away from Instagram made me take a hard look at myself, my brand, my business, and my goals and although I’m not where I want to be, I am definitely on my way.

Now on to what I’m wearing because let’s be real here, this is what you came here for! So without further ado, here it is:

   I am wearing a leopard vintage top that I scored at a local thrift store for 75% off $2.95 so I paid a sweet .74 cents. Talk about a happy shopper!! This is one of those tops where you can remix it and dress it up or down.  You’ll definitely see this one in rotation on the blog. I paired it with a tan pencil skirt purchased from F-21 & I believe it was about $20. I completed my look with gold accessories: a gold choker, rings, watch/bracelets, clutch, and minimalist sandals. And of course, no look is ever complete without hair and makeup. A few days ago I got my hair braided and I must say, this is one of my favorite hairstyles. I’ve received more compliments on this style more than any other braids I’ve worn. The thing I love most about this style is the fact that it’s a cool hairstyle for these hot summer days. I don’t have to worry about lots of hair down my back and it’s off my face. I love a hairstyle that shows more of my face. This is one of my top 5 braiding styles. On my lips, I’m wearing a matte red lipstick purchased from a local beauty store.

I wore this look to church but it’s also a great style to wear to a fancy brunch.

Paris Wears:

signature_ (1)

Style Snapshot: Leopard Vintage Blouse- Family Thrift Store. Sunnies-A’gaci. Tan Pencil Skirt & Rings-F-21. Clutch- Bakers Shoes. Choker- Boutique in LA. Minimalist Gold Sandals- Shoe Nami.

One thought on “Why I Took A Social Media Break + How To Style a .74 Cent Blouse.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.